Quality Management Certification


What is a Quality Management System?

A quality management system is a holistic system containing processes, procedures, and policies for achieving a business’s quality objectives.

A quality management system acts as a hub for an organisation’s documentation and policies, helping the organisation to have a clear picture of their business objectives, and understand how activities taking place within the business can help align with the businesses’ objectives.

Businesses with a quality management system regularly identifies areas of improvement within the business, and improve on existing processes to ensure they align with the business objective.

What are the benefits of an Quality Management certification?

When a business has a quality management system certification, they have proven to external auditors that their business has a documented system and process for achieving quality outputs and products. A few of the benefits include:

  • Keeping existing customers happy by providing quality products
  • Growing your business with new customers
  • Being able to apply for government tenders
  • Having an effective system for documentation and standard procedures
  • Improved internal and external communication
  • Reduction in costs (from identifying cost-saving measures and reducing waste)
  • Improved work culture

You can read more about the benefits of ISO standards in our dedicated blog post.

What’s the process of implementing a quality management system?

When a business decides they would like to achieve a quality management certification, the first step should be identifying business goals. This is what the entire quality management system relies upon.

You will need to analyse your business to understand the key areas the quality management system will work with. A holistic approach will help your business achieve their overarching goal with the quality management plan.

Planning how you intend to achieve quality is the next step. This may involve developing processes and systems to help tick the box. For example, if the goal is to grow the business through quality products and customer service, a quality management system may contain processes on designing and developing the product. The customer service component may have individual procedures for the sales and customer service team.

From here your quality management system requires your business to train and inform the staff of their responsibilities, and the procedures they will need to follow. If there is documentation involved, your team will need to know how to fill in the documentation, and where to store it for review.

Once the staff are trained, your system is live and functioning. Your business will need to bring in an independent auditor to review your management system. Once this audit is conducted, your business will either be certified by an independent auditor, or they will provide recommendations for improvement. Your business will also need to conduct regular internal reviews to ensure the business is continually improving the system.

There are eleven steps in our checklist which can help determine whether your business is ready for ISO 9001:2015 certification.

What are the different types of quality management systems certification?

There is one primary quality management certification – ISO 9001:2015. Contact our team today for more information on quality management auditing.

How can QMS help your business with quality management certification?

Quality Management Certification represents an investment in your organisation that has flow on benefits across every aspect of operation, both internally and externally. Most importantly, you are building your organisation on quality management standards that improve efficiency, performance, safety and sustainability across the board. QMS have a range of auditor to ensure your quality management system is compliant with the standards, so your business can continue to grow and succeed.

Contact QMS for more information on quality management auditing in Newcastle, Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne and Adelaide