ISO 9001 Certification

Quality Management System


What is ISO 9001?

ISO 9001 sets out the criteria for a quality management system. It can be used by any organisation, large or small, regardless of its field of activity. In fact, there are over one million companies and organisations in more than 170 countries certified to ISO 9001.

What is a quality management system?

Organisations use quality management systems (QMS) to ensure quality and consistency when fulfilling customer needs. A QMS is essentially a group of operational processes that are aligned with the organisation’s goals and encompasses the policies, processes, documentation and resources required to achieve them.

What is ISO?

ISO refers to the International Organization for Standardization. It is a global body made up of representatives from national standards organisations from 163 member countries.

It works to promote worldwide industrial and commercial standards and has set almost 20,000 standards that cover a diverse range of industries from product manufacturing to technology, agriculture and healthcare.

What is the purpose of ISO 9001?

Using ISO 9001 helps ensure that customers get consistent, good quality products and services. It is based on a number of quality management principles including a strong customer focus, the motivation and implication of top management, the process approach and a commitment to continual improvement.

What are the benefits of ISO 9001?

ISO 9001 certification helps organisations to:

  • Build market differentiation and competitive advantage
  • Prove your claim to operational quality
  • Reduce your exposure to liability
  • Provide safety system compatibility
  • Boost improvement and cost efficiency
  • Improve organisational morale

How can ISO 9001 help my organisation become a NSW Government supplier of choice?

The NSW Government and its agencies seek service providers that take a systematic approach to the management of quality through the implementation of a QMS.

QMS guidelines based on the current ISO 9001 provide a framework to assist organisations to become a NSW Government supplier of choice. Learn more about NSW QMS guidelines.

ISO 9001:2008 has been recently updated to ISO 9001:2015. What does that mean for my organisation?

ISO 9001:2015 follows a new, higher level structure to make it easier to use in conjunction with other management system standards, with increased importance given to risk management, leadership and communication awareness.

Organisations that are certified to ISO 9001:2008 are granted a three-year transition period after the revision has been published to migrate their quality management system to the new edition of the standard.

This means that organisations certified to ISO9001:2008 have until March 2018 to have their quality management system recertified to ISO 9001:2015.

What’s the process to gain ISO 9001 certification?

There are 6 key stages to the ISO 9001 certification process:

1. Understanding ISO
2. Recognise the gap
3. Prepare your documentation
4. Implement your plan
5. Auditing
6. Ongoing Improvement

Learn more about the ISO 9001 process here.

How does an ISO 9001 audit work?

When applying for ISO 9001 certification, an organisation must undergo an audit process that reviews its operational sites, functions, products, services and processes. The organisation being audited for ISO 9001 compliance must demonstrate that it has effectively implemented sections four to 10 of ISO 9001:2015.

These include:

  • Context of the organisation
  • Leadership
  • Planning
  • Support
  • Operation
  • Performance evaluation
  • Improvement

Does my organisation’s ISO 9001 certification need to be reviewed?

Yes. ISO 9001 certification must be regularly renewed — at least annually.

Are there grades of ISO 9001 certification?

No. An organisation is either ISO 9001 certified or not. There are no competence gradings.

Is my organisation ready for ISO 9001:2015 certification?

Find out by completing our one page questionnaire. Simply submit your details below.

checklist for ISO9001