Safety Management Systems Certification


What is a Safety Management System?

A safety management system is a holistic approach to managing safety in an organisation. This system analyses existing structures, processes and procedures, and identifies areas which require improvement or changes. Safety management systems are tailored to the individual organisation and their requirements, ensuring the system is as relevant and effective and possible.

Safety management systems certification has become an important compliance issue for many organisations, with specific certifications becoming major requirements for many contracts and tenders.

What are the benefits of Safety Management Systems certification?

Compliance with safety regulations is vital for the successful management of your business. By gaining specific safety certifications, you are working towards creating a workplace that recognises and rewards safe practice. The range of safety certifications available through QMS reflect established standards and can be applied to a range of diverse organisations.

Safety management certifications also help to communicate to external stakeholders the manner in which your organisation operates, and the importance of safety standards throughout your operations. This has the opportunity to open your organisation to many different clients and business prospects.

What’s the difference between AS/NZS 4801 Certification, ISO45001 Certification, and the NSW WHSMS Guidelines?

AS/NZS 4801 Certification is the Australian standard for occupational health and safety management systems. This standard helps business to create the correct systems and processes to ensure the safety of your staff, contractors, suppliers and external stakeholders.

  • The standard requires proof of three commitments:
  • Minimizing and avoiding injuries and illness
  • Continual improvement on the existing process
  • Compliance with legal and other regulatory bodies

ISO 45001:2018 is the new international Workplace Health & Safety standard. This was published in March 2018.

If you have an existing certification you will be able to transition to the new standard. This new standard will be focusing on identifying occupational health and safety hazards in the organisation, particularly focusing on the operation systems.

This system follows the same theme as ISO 9001 and ISO 14001, meaning this new standard will fit in well with the other standards.

NSW WHSMS Guidelines is a state-specific guide for NSW government agencies who are working in construction and infrastructure projects. This guide helps create a safer workplace, and allows agencies to qualify for tenders with a contract value of $1 million or more.

Complete the contact form on the right of the page or call QMS to have a chat.