ISO 9001 & ISO 14001 Transition Period Ending Soon

transition-to-iso-9001-iso-14001If your business has not yet transferred to the new ISO 9001:2015 and/or ISO 14001:2015 standards, the time is now.

The three year transition period for both ISO standards is drawing to a close, and businesses who haven’t yet transferred to the new standard will be at risk of losing certification.

Transitioning to ISO 9001:2015

The deadline for transitioning to the new ISO 9001 standard is September 2018 – which is fast approaching! It’s important your business has begun the transition by now, as there are significant differences between the two standards and the changes may need to be fine-tuned by an audit prior to certification.

ISO 9001:2008 vs ISO 9001:2015 – the key differences

There have been a few key changes from the old management system to the new – not the least being structural changes and a change in strategic approach to the system.

Structure – All new standards published by ISO will conform to a new structure (known as Annex SL). This structural change makes life easier for businesses who are certified to a number of standards, as the template structure allows for easy integration and management of all the systems. As far as technical structural changes to the system, ISO 9001:2015 has ten clauses in comparison to 2004’s eight. This structural change has adopted a Plan-Do-Act-Check methodology.

Strategic Approach – New standards published by ISO have a more business and risk management focus. This evolution also focuses on the role of leadership in the implementation and ongoing management of the system. With a focus on risk analysis and management, the system requires businesses to make risk management a priority in the quality management framework.

ISO 9001:2015 also has a major focus on process inputs and outputs when compared to the old standard. This shift in strategic approach takes the businesses’ goals and requires them to outline the number and type of process required to achieve them. The standard requires businesses to accurately measure and evaluate these process inputs and outputs, ensuring they are aligned with the quality management system.

Transitioning to ISO 14001:2015

The transition period for ISO 14001:2004 to ISO 140001:2015 will end in September 2018. All certifications issued to the 2004 standard will no longer be accepted.

There are some key differences between ISO 13301:2004 and ISO 14001:2015 – your business may be caught out if not adequately prepared for this transition.

ISO 14001:2015 vs ISO 14001:2004 – the key differences

ISO 14001:2015 is the newest standard focused on environmental management. This international standard has been revised, alongside the other management standards, and focuses on a more holistic approach to multi-management systems. This approach has created some key changes to the strategy behind the standard, the structure, and the language within the standard.

Strategy – The new standard focused on a more business-oriented perspective of the standard. This includes a particular focus on the role of leadership in the execution and maintenance of the management system – this is a new focus of many new standards in the industry. The EMS now also focuses on proactive strategies, including analysing risks and opportunities related to the environmental management system, which now enables businesses to adopt a better risk planning strategy. This proactive strategy also includes the expectation for organisations to commit to environment-protecting initiatives and improving communication.

Structure – Perhaps one of the more exciting changes to the modern standards across the board – the standard has adopted the new Annex SL template – not only does this help with the integration of the system but also enables the EMS to work holistically with other management systems, creating an integrated management system.

Language – The language change from documents and records to documented information has eliminated a lot of the admin and red tape of the standard, changing the standard from a highly regimented and documented system, to one which is more flexible and potentially more easily adaptable.

If your business has not yet transitioned to ISO 14001:2015 or ISO 9001:2015, contact the team at QMS today. We can help you.

QMS offer certification & auditing services to Australian businesses looking to become ISO 9001 or ISO 14001 certified

Are you ready to be ISO 9001 certified? Download our guide to getting certified today and find out.

checklist for ISO9001










Image source: Pexels